Online Premiere of “When the Salmon Spoke”

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Southeast Alaska Indigenous Transboundary Commission and Ping Chong + Company present “When the Salmon Spoke” in collaboration with SkeenaWild Conservation Trust and Salmon Beyond Borders.

Join us at 3 p.m. AKST / 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST on Sunday, May 31, 2020, for the online premiere of “When the Salmon Spoke,” a digital production featuring cinematic imagery, indigenous music and visual art, and captivating life stories from ten community members of the Stikine River, which connects coastal Tlingit and inland Tahltan communities of Alaska and British Columbia.

For millennia, the Tlingit and Tahltan peoples and their ancestors have shared the Stikine River and its salmon. Over the last century, however, the political border between the United States and Canada has separated relatives, ancestors, and stories on different ends of this transboundary river. Drawn together by shared concern over the threats of climate change, a modern-day Gold Rush in northern British Columbia, and declining wild salmon populations, Stikine River Indigenous peoples are seeking reconnection and shared solutions.

You can join us here (click website link on left) on Facebook, for a live watch party, followed by a livestream panel discussion featuring When the Salmon Spoke storytellers and production collaborators including Tis Peterman (Tlingit/Tahltan), Annita McPhee (Tahltan/Tlingit), Juneau- and Brooklyn-based creative director Ryan Conarro (Ping Chong + Co. associate artist), and more.

RSVP: here https://secure.ngpvan.com/oj_lQwVasECV0UJFKqqyUg2

May 31 2020

Details

Date: May 31
Time: 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Event Categories: ,
Event Tags:
Website: Visit Event Website

Venue

Stikine River

Wrangell, AK 99929 US

+ Google Map